Denali National Park

27 06 2013

The first time I went to Denali I was 4 years old in 1979. I had watched Sesame Street a day or two prior, on the show there was a skit where the bus driver lets a rhino and a bear on the bus. Being 4 yrs old and not really understanding the difference between reality and tv, I was very concerned when the bus we were riding in Denali National Park stopped to see a bear. I was convinced the bus driver was going to let the bear on. My mom tried to relieve my fears, but I wasn’t truly convinced until the bus was back in motion.

Julie and I were lucky enough to get invited along on Cathy & Alissa’s pro pass to photograph in the park. The weather was awesome-we are having the BEST summer ever! And surprisingly, the animals were out and about, despite the warm temps.

Sleepy bear.

sleepy bear

Dall Sheep rams near Polychrome.

Rams

Alaska Cotton at Wonder Lake.

alaska cotton wonder lake

Grizzly.

bear

Ewes near Toklat.

sheep polychrome

Cross Fox with Denali. She was a pretty driven hunter trying to bring home a squirrel for her kits. She relentlessly dug and dug for the squirrel (which had escaped her).

fox

Luckily, she found another. Dinner!

fox squirrel

Curious caribou.

curious caribou

This bear kept posing for us.

cute bear

Wildflowers & Denali.

wildflowers denali

I’m so fortunate to have great friends that invite me on amazing adventures!!!

Actions

Information

One response

14 08 2013
Sebastian

great pictures. thanks for sharing!
greetings from germany, hope to go to alaska next year. your blog strengthens my desire to experience this part of the world.

Leave a Reply

