Elmo (and Andres) Ski Mount Rainier

3 06 2013

I finally made it to Seattle to ski with Andres! Somehow, I lucked out on the weather and missed a cloudy/rainy weekend in AK for a hot, sunny weekend in Washington!

mt rainier

The first day we decided to ski the Interglacier on Mt. Rainier. With approximately a 4700ish ft. elevation gain to 9000 ft. climbing it kicked my sea level butt. We started the hike in the forest, clouds obscuring the mountain tops. We strapped the skis on our backs for the first 3+ miles, until there was enough snow to skin to the 9000 ft. level where we skied down from.

forest

Once we popped out of the trees the clouds started to lift and we got our first glimpse of Mt. Rainier. As we continued up the glacier, the weather improved the entire way to blue skies, sunshine, and really, really warm temps. I got burnt to a crisp despite the loads of sunscreen I kept reapplying.

Fresh snow and lots of wet slides on the Interglacier.

Interglacier

Andres with Mt. Rainier.

Andres summit mt rainier

andres ski2

Beautiful views of the Cascades as far as the eye can see. andres interglacier

Sense of scale. Andres in the right corner headed down the glacier.sense of scale

The finest sunglasses that Safeway has to offer 🙂 Andres rocking the Hannah Montana sunglasses and me with Mt. Rainier behind us.

me & Andres

The next day we headed to the Camp Muir side of the mountain. Holy crowds of people!!! We brought Elmo with us to the circus 🙂

elmo skins

The weather started out great, but by the time we got up on the mountain to 8,000 ft. the clouds rolled in, making flat light and obscuring all detail on the mountain. Instead of skiing the chutes, I decided to take it easy and just ski the way we came up-I was nervous about re-injuring my ankle and didn’t want to be out for most of the summer.

Elmo skis!

elmo skis

I had a blast in Washington! It was awesome to spend time in the mountains again with Andres and hang out with Leanne in the city. I’m lucky to have such great friends~I’m looking forward to my next trip to Seattle!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

